1985 in Film – The Breakfast Club

Release date: Feb 15th

Box Office: $45,875,171 (US)

The first article is a bit of a cheat as it’s actually already written. Way back in the mists of time I had a little blog, kinda like this, but one that you can only find now if you use use the Way Back Machine. On there I wrote about The Breakfast Club. It’s rough and kind of stupid but it was my honest opinion of when I saw it at the time. So why not start looking at 1985 by having a guest writer in the form of me aged 20.

Kevin Smith says that you should see this film before you’re 21, or not at all. At least, I think it was him. And that might not be the exact quote, but you get my point.

I’m 20, was on TV. Thought I’d better just in case. All things considered, I should have put a John Carpenter film on.

That’s not to say it wasn’t fun, just not my kind of film. Besides, John Hughes ruined Steve Martin’s career so I hate the man.*

I found it difficult to relate to anyone in this film, best of the 80s teen flicks. This is probably just me. I am cynical after all and weepy cheerleaders aren’t my bag.

It was okay. Could have been a lot more though. John Hughes really starts to nail the fact that the popularity system can fuck you up good and proper. But, he doesn’t finish it off, wusses out and gets everyone to dance.

That’s another problem. The strange 80s need for cheesy music at all turns. Same thing happened to Manhunter. But not in John Carpenter films, but I digress.

The end pisses me off too. The Jock suddenly falling for the introverted one because she puts on some make up. Yeah, it may have been in the day but it still reeks. Everything gets wrapped up too nicely. All too convenient.

I’m in two minds. Some bits are quite funny, but I can’t shake off the cheesy 80s annoying American teen-ness of it. Nope, not one for me. Teen movies never are.

*Steve Martin starred in Planes, Trains and Automobiles, written and directed by John Hughes. A good film crippled by over sentimentality. Steve Martin was then infected by this sentimentality. Observe:

Pre-Planes Martin starred in:

– The Man With Two Brains, Dead Men Don’t Wear Plaid, The Jerk etc.

After Planes, Martin starred in:

– HouseSitter, Father of The Bride, Out of Towners.

Admittedly, Goldie Hawn shares some of the blame but I think you’ll find that’s fairly conclusive.

Leave a Reply

